The Benefits of Being LEED Certified

In the logistics real estate industry, a lot of weight is placed on LEED certification. But many property owners aren’t familiar with the exact definition of “LEED certified.” This guide covers LEED certification and its many benefits.

LEED (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) is an internationally recognized green building certification system sponsored by the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC). LEED is a third-party designation that verifies a building or community was designed and built using strategies and materials to maximize sustainability. LEED-certified buildings are designed and constructed with a focus on energy savings, water efficiency, reduced carbon emissions and improved indoor air quality. Further, the design’s overall stewardship of resources and sensitivity to their impact on the environment are taken into consideration.

Kaiser DC5

How Does a LEED Certification Benefit Your Building?

The benefits of LEED certification are many. For starters, the certification shows you’re serious about using environmentally responsible building practices—which will not only enhance your reputation, but can also help you become a leader in your industry. With more companies taking an interest in green technology, LEED certification makes your warehouse or facility more attractive to tenants.

There are also financial benefits to becoming LEED certified. According to the USGBC, “LEED buildings have faster lease-up rates and may qualify for a host of incentives, like tax rebates and zoning allowances. Not to mention they retain higher property values.”

How Does the LEED Certification Points System Work?

LEED certification works on a points-based system—the higher the score, the more sustainable the building and, therefore, the higher the level of certification. The point system focuses on nine areas:

  • Sustainable sites
  • Integrative process
  • Location and transportation
  • Innovation
  • Water efficiency
  • Energy and atmosphere
  • Materials and resources
  • Indoor environmental quality
  • Regional priority

The four LEED certification levels are Certified, Silver, Gold and Platinum. Buildings are awarded certification based on the total points earned:

  • LEED Certified: 40–49 points
  • LEED Silver: 50–59 points
  • LEED Gold: 60–79 points
  • LEED Platinum: 80 or more points

How Can You Improve Your LEED-Certification Score?

If your facility is not currently LEED certified or you want to improve your LEED certification score, there are a few things you can do.

For starters, implement energy-saving lighting and appliances, more efficient waste management systems, water-conserving faucets and toilets, solar- or wind-energy systems, air scrubbers and other elements to help reduce the overall carbon footprint of your facility.

With the necessary changes made, you can then apply for LEED certification online.

Once approved, you’ll be able to enjoy the benefits of being LEED certified.

Related Content

Strykow II DC1
What Is the Difference Between BREEAM and LEED Certified?

What Is the Difference Between BREEAM and LEED Certified?

What is the difference between BREEAM vs LEED certified? What does BREEAM stand for? Get the answers to these and other questions here. 

North Hampton Pineham DC1
Top 10 Supply Chain Management Certifications

Top 10 Supply Chain Management Certifications

Learn about the top 10 supply chain management certifications in this supply chain certification guide from Prologis.

Ontario DC 9
Elements of a Sustainable Warehouse

Elements of a Sustainable Warehouse

In this guide from Prologis, learn about what goes into making a sustainable warehouse and why green warehouses are so important.