Top 10 Supply Chain Management Certifications

As in many other professions, people in the supply chain management field can obtain various certifications to help advance at their current companies or enhance their qualifications as candidates in the job market. With that in mind, here’s everything you need to know about earning a supply chain management certification and which ones are the best to attain.

CWI Workers

How Do I Receive a Supply Chain Management Certificate?

With multiple supply chain certifications to choose from, it’s important to select a program based on the role you perform now and what you hope to do later in your career. Part of the selection process involves checking the eligibility requirements for the programs in which you’re interested.  

Besides taking a program of study, as well as incorporating on-the-job training, all that’s left to do is take and pass a certification exam. Once you earn certification, you can add the credential to your resume, list it on your LinkedIn profile and include the certification letters behind your name.

What Does Supply Chain Certification Mean for my Business?

If you are a consultant or other self-employed professional, earning a supply chain certificate can help your business in several ways. For starters, getting certified proves your business is credible and that it meets or exceeds the core certification requirements, which makes your enterprise more attractive to potential clients or partners. If you’re an individual working in the field, it will make you a stronger job candidate among employers. Certification also justifies charging higher rates or asking for higher pay.

Top 10 Supply Chain Management Certifications

The supply chain management certifications considered top in the industry are:


1. APICS Certified Supply Chain Professional Certification (CSCP)

Available from the Association for Supply Chain Management (APICS), CSCP certification eligibility requirements include having three years related experience or a bachelor’s degree or international equivalent. To maintain the certification, you need to earn a total of 75 professional development points every five years.

2. APICS Certified in Production and Inventory Management (CPIM)

CPIM certification is recognized globally as the standard of professional competence. To earn certification, you need to pass two exams within three years. To maintain certification, you need to obtain 75 professional development points every five years.


3. APICS Supply Chain Operations Reference (SCOR-P) Endorsement

The SCOR-P endorsement links business processes, performance metrics, practices and people skills into a unified structure. Having this certification validates your knowledge in the supply chain operations reference model (SCOR). To obtain SCOR-P endorsement, you need to pass the exam.


4. APICS Certified Logistics, Transportation and Distribution (CLTD)

CLTD certification proves you have in-depth knowledge about a broad range of supply chain logistics topics.

5. ISM Certified Professional in Supply Management (CPSM)

CPSM certification is available through the Institute for Supply Management (ISM). This certification validates your knowledge of supply management functions across several industries. To qualify, you need three years of full-time supply chain management experience in a non-clerical or support position. Certification needs to be renewed after four years, and you need to earn 60 hours of approved continuing education credits.

6. ISM Certified Professional in Supplier Diversity (CPSD)

CPSD is the second certification available from ISM. It can be obtained in addition to CPSM certification by passing two exams.

7. SCPro Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals (CSCMP)

CSCMP certification combines multilevel education with a three-tiered exam process, and there are three levels in the certification. You are required to acquire 60 hours of eligible professional development activities and complete at least 20 hours of professional development annually. This credential needs to be renewed every three years.

8. SOLE Certified Professional Logistician (CPL)

CPL certification is available from The International Society of Logistics (SOLE). To qualify, you need at least nine years of experience practicing or teaching logistics and two years of experience in at least two fields of logistics. If you have a master’s degree, you need four years of additional experience and with a doctoral degree, three additional years.

9. NCMA Certified Professional Contract Manager (CPCM)

CPCM certification can be obtained from the National Contract Management Association (NCMA). To be eligible, you need a strong understanding of the Contract Management Body of Knowledge (CMBOK), business and training education, and a minimum of five years experience in a relevant field.

10. Project Management Professional (PMP)

PMP certification is considered the most important industry-recognized certification for project managers, and it is available through the Project Management Institute. Eligibility requirements include a secondary degree (high school diploma, associate’s degree or the global equivalent), at least 7,500 hours leading and directing projects, and at least 35 hours of project management education or CAPM certification.